Morals & Ethics

These two words are buzzing around in my head today, I am digesting and contemplating their meanings. Not just their universal meaning, but the bearing they have on me and my life.

Recently a question was posed to me that directly relates to my personal morals and ethics and has made me seriously consider what they are. We all have some morals and ethics that we live by some more than others but at the end of the day they are present in some form. At times we stretch the boundaries of the two in order to accommodate changes in our circumstances and to get on with living. We have all done it one way or other, even when we have not wanted to circumstances have dictated it and we find ourselves adjusting our boundary lines.

I find myself confronted with a long list of cons and very few pros. My instincts are saying ‘no’ and we are always told to trust our instincts. For me that is something I have always lived by, but in recent years have realised that those very instincts often stop me from stepping out and experiencing life. At times it has been hard lessons learned but necessary, other times it has been a life changing experience that I have really enjoyed and not regretted one bit.

So as I ponder these things, I ask you the reader to share with me any of your experiences and lessons you have learned along the way. Have you regretted it? Have you enjoyed it? What have you learned? Would you do it again? What makes your morals and ethics different to mine?

Ethics:
  1. Moral principles that govern a person’s or group’s behaviour. The moral correctness of specified conduct.
Morals:
  1. A lesson, esp. one concerning what is right or prudent, that can be derived from a story, a piece of information, or an experience.
  2. A person’s standards of behaviour or beliefs concerning what is and is not acceptable for them to do.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Coll
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 11:36:54

    While reading your thought provoking blog on morals, another question came to mind. Where do morals come from? Yes, we can argue that over time societies have ‘matured’ and developed acceptable norms of living harmoniously within groups, but is this all there is to it. Consider how barbaric some societies can still be even with all the benefits of modern technology and cultured politics. Would it be fair to say that if left to their devices many cultures would revert to outlaw style living. Why do we still need police-and more bythe day it seems. I therefore wonder if our morals are determined more by our conscience than upbringing. And if this is so, where does our conscience come from?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

